COVID Alert app

Use the COVID Alert app to protect yourself, people around you and the public.

The COVID Alert app:

  • notifies you if you have been in contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19;
  • refers you to the relevant information concerning the steps to follow after you receive the exposure notification;
  • informs other app users when they have been close to a person who has reported testing positive to COVID-19 through the app, anonymously and without sharing personal information.

The COVID Alert app does not:

  • access, collect or archive your personal information This hyperlink will open in a new window. or information on your health status;
  • use the GPS on your device and cannot determine your location or any other personal information.

Use of the COVID Alert app is entirely voluntary. You are free to download the app, use it or remove it.

Download the COVID Alert app:

App Store

Google Play

The more people use the app, the more effective it will be in curbing transmission.

The COVID Alert app runs in the background on your device without hampering or interrupting your day-to-day activities.

  • The app uses Bluetooth on smartphones to determine how far away you are from other people using the app.
  • It exchanges random codes every five minutes with app users nearby. The random codes cannot be used to identify you or to determine your location.
  • The app stores the codes on your telephone for 14 days.

Every day, when your device connects to the Internet, the COVID Alert app will match your random codes and those of individuals who have indicated through the app that they have tested positive.

Even if the app finds matches, it is impossible to link them to individuals. Your identity remains confidential.

If the app finds matching codes, this means that within the past two weeks you have been less than 2 metres away for more than 15 minutes from an app user who has in the meantime tested positive. You will, therefore, receive an exposure notification.

  • The notification will indicate that you have potentially been in contact with COVID-19.
  • It will indicate the steps to follow.

No personal information or location data is shared. It is, therefore, impossible to know when and where you were in contact with an infected individual.

If you have tested positive and public health authorities have contacted you, you can request a one-time key. To do so:

  • promptly call the telephone number indicated in the app;
  • make note of the key that you receive once your identity and test result have been verified;
  • enter the key in the app within 24 hours, after which it will expire.

Even if you decide to report your positive result, the COVID Alert app will not share any information that might identify you. You alone control your decisions. It is up to you to decide if you wish to share the diagnosis. Your anonymity will always be maintained.

Privacy and data protection

The app does not monitor your location.

The COVID Alert app does not use your smartphone’s GPS and will never request authorization to reveal your location.

The app does not collect your personal information.

It does not obtain your name, telephone number or any other personal details.

No health-related information is collected.

Even if you decide to report your positive result to other people, COVID Alert will not share any information that might identify you.

You are fully in charge of your decisions.

If you test positive, it is up to you whether you wish to share the diagnosis with other people. Your anonymity will always be maintained. You can consult the unabridged version of the confidentiality policy This hyperlink will open in a new window..

Additional information