Role and mandate

Section 509 This hyperlink will open in a new window. of the Act respecting health services and social services provides for the formation of a Comité provincial pour la prestation des services de santé et des services sociaux en langue anglaise. The Committee is created by regulation and its mandate is to advise the gouvernement du Québec on:

  • the provision of health and social services in the English language;
  • the approval, evaluation and modification by the gouvernement du Québec of each access program developed by an institution in accordance with section 348 This hyperlink will open in a new window. of the Act.

The Act to modify the organization and governance of the health and social services network, in particular by abolishing the regional agencies adds two responsibilities to the Committee’s mandate:

  • the approval of requests made by integrated health and social services centres for withdrawal of recognition, as provided for in the third paragraph of section 29.1 This hyperlink will open in a new window. of the Charter of the French Language;
  • the identification of organizations that promote the interests of English speakers in each region. These organizations will be consulted regarding the appointment of members of regional committees for access programs for health and social services in the English language.


The Comité provincial pour la prestation des services de santé et des services sociaux en langue anglaise (Committee) is composed of 11 members appointed to represent all of the English-speaking population:

  • two members residing within the Montréal health region;
  • one member residing within the Laval health region;
  • one member residing within the Montérégie health region;
  • one member residing within the Estrie health region;
  • one member residing within the Outaouais health region;
  • five members residing within the other health regions of Québec.

The composition of the Committee must also meet the following criteria:

  • at least one member must be a doctor who has practised in a centre used by a public health or social services institution, or be a professional or middle manager who has been employed by such an institution;
  • one of these eleven members must be from an Indigenous community in Québec.

In addition to the eleven members, the Committee has an observer appointed by the Minister in each of the following categories:

  • the people assigned to Indigenous affairs activities by Ministère du Conseil exécutif;
  • the people assigned to this department’s activities concerning relations with English-speaking Quebecers, as required.

Each observer participates in the Committee sessions but does not have the right to vote.


The members of the Committee appoint a president and vice-president from among their number.

The Minister appoints as secretary of the Committee a member of the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux staff who knows the concerns of English-speaking Quebecers regarding access to health and social services in English, is aware of them and has particular expertise in the legislative and administrative framework for providing health and social services in the English language. The secretary is considered the twelfth member of the Committee but does not have the right to vote. 

Term of appointment

Committee members serve for no more than three years. However, for the first appointment of members, the Minister appoints five members for a first term of four years.

Once their term has expired, members remain in office until they are reappointed or replaced. Members cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.


The Committee’s quorum is set by the majority, including the president and the vice-president.

The Committee’s decisions are made by the majority of the votes by the members present. In the event of a tie, the president of the Committee or, in the absence of the president, the vice-president has a casting vote.

The Committee must hold at least five sessions per year. They can be held using equipment enabling all participants to communicate directly with one another. The meetings shall be held during the day, from Monday to Friday. They are held in French and called by e-mail.

The Committee members serve in a personal capacity. To avoid any conflict of interest, they do not in any way represent an organization or social or political group. The members are not remunerated. However, they are entitled to reimbursement of expenses incurred in the performance of their duties under the conditions and to the extent determined by the gouvernement du Québec.


The Committee is composed of the following members:

  • Monsieur Andrew Holman (Mauricie-Centre-du-Québec);

  • Monsieur Ian Williams (Laval);
  • Madame Jennifer Johnson (Capitale-Nationale);

  • Madame Joanne Labadie (Outaouais);

  • Madame Jessica Synnott (Gaspésie);

  • Madame Norma Husk, présidente (Estrie);

  • Madame Lise Viens (Laurentides);

  • Madame Pauline Grunberg (Montréal);

  • Monsieur Keith Leclaire (Montérégie);

  • Monsieur Peter S. Eusanio, vice-président (Montréal).

  • Vacant seat :

  • Membre observateur du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA);

  • Membre observateur du Secrétariat aux relations avec les Québécois d’expression anglaise (SRQEA).

Contact information for the Committee secretary

Ms. Ange Beaulieu is the secretary of the Committee. To reach the secretary, contact:

Ms. Ange Beaulieu
Advisor, Secrétariat à l’accès aux services en langue anglaise et aux communautés ethnoculturelles
2021, Avenue Union, Suite 12.30 (12th floor)
Montréal (Québec) H3A 2S9

Telephone: 514 873-2292