1. Home  
  2. Premier of Québec  
  3. Premier  
  4. Historic


History of the Premiership

The Premiership began with Confederation, in 1867, further to signing of the British North America Act (BNA Act). The Premier is the head of the executive branch of government. Our democratic system also includes legislative powers (Parliament, or National Assembly of Québec, with 125 elected Members or MNAs) and judicial powers (justice system).

Premiers since 1867

Last update: January 16, 2023